Saskatchewan. Following the provincial election of October 18, 1978, party standings were: New Democrats 44, Progressive Conservatives 17.

The Executive Council of Saskatchewan in January 1979

Premier and President of the Executive Council, Hon. A.E. Blakeney
Attorney General, Hon. R.J. Romanow
Minister of Mineral Resources, Hon. J.R. Messer
Minister of Finance, Hon. W.E. Smishek
Minister of Labour and Minister of Government
Services, Hon. G.T. Snyder
Minister of the Environment, Hon. G.R.
Bowerman
Minister of Northern Saskatchewan, Hon. N.E.

Byers Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. G. MacMurchy Minister of Highways and Transportation, Hon. E. Kramer

Provincial Secretary, Hon. E. Cowley

Minister of Health, Hon. E. Tchorzewski
Minister of Revenue, Supply and Services and
Minister of Co-operation and Co-operative
Development, Hon. W.A. Robbins
Minister of Consumer Affairs, Hon. E.C. Whelan
Minister of Agriculture, Hon. E.E. Kaeding
Minister of Tourism and Renewable Resources,
Hon. A. Matsalla
Minister of Social Services and Minister of
Continuing Education, Hon. H.H. Rolfes
Minister of Culture and Youth and Minister of
Education, Hon. E.B. Shillington
Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. N.

Vickar Minister of Telephones, Hon. Don Cody

Yukon Territory. Ione Christensen became commissioner on January 20, 1979, replacing Frank Fingland who had been appointed interim commissioner in November 1978 following the resignation of Dr. Arthur Pearson.

On November 20, 1978, in the first Yukon Territory election to involve political parties, party standings were: Progressive Conservatives 11, Liberals 2, Independents 2, New Democrats 1, Ridings, members elected and their political affiliation were:

Klondike, Meg McCall, PC Old Crow, Grafton Njootli, PC Mayo, Swede Hanson, PC Kluane, Alice McGuire, Lib. Tatchun, Howard Tracy, PC Hootalinqua, Allen Falle, PC Faro, Maurice Byblow, Ind. Campbell, Robert Fleming, Ind. Watson Lake, Don Taylor, PC Riverdale North, Chris Pearson, PC Riverdale South, Iain Mackay, Lib. Porter Creek West, Doug Graham, PC Porter Creek East, Dan Lang, PC Whitehorse North Centre, Jeff Lattin, PC Whitehorse South Centre, Jack Hibberd, PC Whitehorse West, Tony Penikett, NDP